Boys lax: Spring-Ford tops Perkiomen Valley for 8th straight title

For more PAC sports photos from MJohn Photography, click here.

WORCESTER - Spring-Ford used a 6-0 run to break open a 6-6 game and claimed its eighth straight Pioneer Athletic Conference boys’ lacrosse championship Thursday with a 13-9 victory over Perkiomen Valley at Methacton.

Ryan Rosenblum scored four goals and Peyton Gensler added three as the Rams (15-4) continued their league dominance. Spring-Ford has reached the PAC finals all 12 years the tournamnet has been held. Perkiomen Valley (12-6) was making its first title game appearance.

“We knew they would come out swinging, and it just took us a while to settle in and find our game,” said Spring-Ford coach Kevin Donnelly. “We expect to be here, and the kids know what it’s like to compete for a championship.”

The Vikings tied the game, 6-6, late in the second period on a tally by Richie Marshall (five goals, one assist), but Rosenblum scored 47 seconds before the half to make it 7-6.

Gensler made it 8-6 and then Jarrod Marenger fed Brad Hart (two goals) for a 9-6 lead before making it 10-6 with a goal himself with 16 seconds left in the third quarter. Gensler then forced a turnover and scored to make it 11-6 before Marenger again found a cutting Hart for a 12-6 pad at the 8:15 mark of the fourth quarter to complete the run. Kyle Pettine also was strong in goal for Spring-Ford, posting 8 saves.

Brian Fehr had two goals and three assists for Perk Valley, which used a 3-1 run down the stretch, triggered by Marshall’s two goals and one assist and another strike from Fehr, who assisted on both of Marshall’s goals in the fourth - the last coming at the 4:23 mark to cut the gap to 13-9.

But the Vikings could get no closer, as the Rams ran out the clock to make it eight straight.

Spring-Ford              3-4-3-3 - 13
Perkiomen Valley     1-5-0-3 -  9
Peyton Gensler 3g
Nick Teets 1g, 1a
Ryan Rosenblum 4g
Collin Pettine 1a
Kyle Mason 1g
Kyle Decerio 1g
Jarrod Marenger 1g, 2a
Brad Hart 2g
Kyle Pettine 8 saves
Perkiomen Valley 
Richie Marshall 5g 1a
Brian Fehr 2g 3a
Nick Pammer 1g 1g
Connor Roop 2a
Nick Steele 1g
Matt Brock 13/26 FO 11gbs
Rob Farrington 2 saves
Pioneer Athletic Conference champions
2007 – Spring-Ford 11, Owen J. Roberts 10, OT
2008 – Owen J. Roberts 15, Spring-Ford 4
2009 – Owen J. Roberts 8, Spring-Ford 7
2010 – Owen J. Roberts 11, Spring-Ford 9
2011 – Spring-Ford 20, Owen J. Roberts 13
2012 – Spring-Ford 9, Owen J. Roberts 8
2013 – Spring-Ford 10, Owen J. Roberts 9, 2 OT
2014 – Spring-Ford 15, Owen J. Roberts 8
2015 – Spring-Ford 8, Owen J. Roberts 7, OT
2016 – Spring-Ford 12, Owen J. Roberts 8
2017 – Spring-Ford 9, Owen J. Roberts 5
2018 – Spring-Ford 13, Perkionen Valley 9