Football: PAC-10 postseason award banquet (photo gallery)

PAC-10 football banquet award winners include, from left, Justin Jaworski (Two way Player of the Year), Stephen Sturm (Most Valuable Player), Steven Rice (Defensive Player of the Year), Tyrell Barr (Joseph Edwards Scholarship), David Williams (Offensive Player of the Year) and  Jake Adams (Bill Rogers Lineman of the Year)

UPPER PROVIDENCE  - Pottsgrove, Perkiomen Valley and Spring-Ford stole the show at the 30th Annual Pioneer Athletic Conference Football Banquet at Rivercrest Golf Club Sunday.

Falcons defensive end/tight end Chris DeFrancesco brought home the prestigious David L. Freed Award, running back Tyrell Barr captured the Joseph Edwards Scholarship Award and offensive tackle Jake Adams earned the Bill Rogers Lineman of the Year Award.

For the complete photo gallery of this event, click here.

The Vikings award winners were three juniors – quarterback Stephen Sturm (Most Valuable Player), wide receiver/defensive back Justin Jaworski (Two-Way Player of the Year) and running back David Williams (Offensive Player of the Year). Sturm set the single season record for passing yards (3,136) and Jaworski followed suit with the PAC-10 single season receiving mark (1,224) for Perk Valley, which advanced to the District 1-AAAA quarterfinals.

Spring-Ford garnered the PAC-10 championship with a perfect 9-0 league slate and linebacker Steven Rice was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Pottsgrove coach Rick Pennypacker, left, poses with Freed Award winner Chris DeFrancesco.

The coveted Freed Award went to DeFrancesco, who was diagnosed with testicular cancer and is currently undergoing chemotherapy – a treatment that has short-circuited his promising senior season on the wrestling mats but failed to blunt his high-level performance on the football field, where he earned first team all-league honors.

All awards were selected by the league's coaches, including the departing Scott Reed of Perkiomen Valley.

The PAC-10 All Academic football team includes, from left, Nicholas Rossi (Methacton), Quinn Hair (Boyertown), Eddie Landherr (Perkiomen Valley), Cory Bird (Phoenixville), David DeBias (Pope John Paul II), Max Stump (Pottsgrove) and Brandon Tinson (Pottstown).